Barbie Feet: The Photogenic Pose Becoming an Instagram Epidemic

There's a reason some people love wearing high heels—and it's not that they're especially comfortable. It's because they're (hands down) the most flattering footwear. But take a scroll through Instagram, and you'll find the funny fact that models and bloggers have a trick for occasions when heels aren't an option, and what we'll now refer to as "Barbie feet." While Barbie's plastic feet are permanently moulded into a pointed position, Instagram pros are whipping out the pose when they want to elongate their legs in photographs.

To master this pose, there's only one requirement: to act like you're wearing an invisible pair of high heels, even though there's nothing but air under your arches. From the front, it can be hard to tell you're doing anything at all, but from the side, you can see that you're balanced solely on the ball of your foot. Read on and you'll find a breakdown of exactly how to nail this photogenic trick.

 

kamp kourtndall

A post shared by Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash) on

 

A post shared by elsa hosk (@hoskelsa) on

 

A post shared by Chanel Iman (@chaneliman) on

 

A post shared by Jenny Cipoletti (@margoandme) on

 

Midas touch up in this bitch

A post shared by Caroline Vreeland (@carolinevreeland) on

 

GG ????

A post shared by Giulia Tordini (@giuliatordini) on

 

We out here @editionhotels #miamibeachedition @SAME ????❤️????

A post shared by Shea Marie (@peaceloveshea) on

 

Yeaahh, mahn. ???? #prismlondonxskylarknegril

A post shared by Tina Leung 梁伊妮 (@tinaleung) on

 

????

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

 

This rock formation is pretty heavy! ???? @revolve #revolvearoundtheworld

A post shared by Victoria Justice (@victoriajustice) on

 

????????????

A post shared by Romee Strijd (@romeestrijd) on

 

A post shared by Shay Mitchell (@shaymitchell) on

 

☀️ ???? ☀️ #juanlove

A post shared by Jasmine Tookes (@jastookes) on

 

ILYSM

A post shared by Rosie HW (@rosiehw) on

 

A post shared by ???? (@bellahadid) on

 

A post shared by Yovanna Ventura (@yoventura) on

 

A post shared by lilymaymac (@lilymaymac) on

Oh social media, you weird, weird world.